Agnes Owens: The Complete Novellas

Agnes Owens: The Complete Novellas

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

This complete collection of Agnes Owens' five novellas opens with 'Like Birds in the Wilderness', a portrait of brickie Mac. He's a straightforward guy with a talent for laying bricks and a liking for the drink who decides to head to the oil-rich north to seek his fortune. 'A Working Mother' is a wildly entertaining cautionary tale: while Betty's husband, Adam, broods and drinks (to be matched at times by Betty, just to be sociable) she flirts with their best friend Brendan and tries to avoid the roving hands of her new employer. They're all driving Betty crazy. 'For the Love of Willie Owens' takes a sensitive, canny look at wartime teenage pregnancy - a tale as relevant now as ever. 'Bad Attitudes' and 'Jen's Party' conclude the collection: both deadly, darkly funny stories about family relationships and love on the dole.When they all lifted their trowels I told them I might as well get going since I was paid off anyway. ... stovies. a#39;Aa#39; the same, ita#39;s an ill wind that blaws nae good.a#39; Dad, who had only recently returned to his place at the table, said, a#39;Maybe I could getanbsp;...

Title:Agnes Owens: The Complete Novellas
Author:Anges Owens
Publisher:Birlinn - 2011-09-01


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming