History of Anson County, North Carolina, 1750-1976

History of Anson County, North Carolina, 1750-1976

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

Anson County, which at its formation in 1750 encompassed all of central and western North Carolina and portions of South Carolina, is the parent of the North Carolina counties of Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, and Union. The work at hand, written by journalist and historian Mary Medley and sponsored by the Anson County Historical Society, is the only comprehensive history of Anson County. The narrative spans over 225 years of the county's growth from a vast wilderness to a thriving industrial and agricultural community.It began as a manual labor school with sixty-five students under the presidency of the Reverend R. H. Morrison and was ... He says that the sons of Anson planters attending the school during this period referred to their county as aquot;the home ofanbsp;...

Title:History of Anson County, North Carolina, 1750-1976
Author:Mary Louise Medley
Publisher:Genealogical Publishing Com - 1976


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming